Kill Code by Clive Fleury

tumblr_n6hno2qixr1sfxmouo1_500Kill Code: A Dystopian Science Fiction Novel by [Fleury, Clive]

Add to Goodreads

Buy on Amazon

My Rating: 4/5 stars

Genre: Dystopian, Sci-fi


About this Book:

WHEN THE OCEANS RISE…THE TRUTH DROWNS
It’s the year 2031. Our future. Their present. A world decimated by climate catastrophe, where the sun’s heat is deadly and the ocean rises higher every day. A world ruled by the rich, powerful, and corrupt. A world where a good man can’t survive for long.

My Review:

Kill Code by Clive Fleury has all the parts I loved about The Fifth Wave series. It is a hardcore dystopian with fascinating multi-dimensional characters and a plot to keep you engaged. I am a die-hard fan of dystopian novels because I know any of them can come true and I need to be prepared for that.
Just kidding.
The thing is that a dying world brings with it the extent to which humans can fall when their very nature is corrupted by the will to survive. I saw that in the protagonist Hogan Duran. A former cop who was forced to resign was now struggling on the brink of survival.
Before I discuss the characters, I need to talk about the premise which was realistic and borderline scary. The way I see the world today with people not caring about climate change and the wealth getting concentrated in the hands of a few powerful people, I could really see the events of this book turning to reality in a not so distant future.
Meanwhile, everyone who is not on the top positions, among the rich and powerful, must find their own ways of survival. So when a cop who went through forced retirement gets an opportunity to join the National Security Council, he would do anything and pass any test. The tough training times and challenging tasks will decide what his fate would be.
The way this book was written with a simultaneous build-up of the premise but never allowing the storyline to fall weak makes it an entertaining read. The characters, even apart from Hogan were dark and gritty. Ruby had her pros and Jake had his cons but the book wouldn’t be complete without them. Secondary characters are often what makes or breaks a book for me and it is very important for dystopian to at least have strong side characters. Kill code gets a star rating, just for ensuring that.
The book kept me thinking throughout the chapters which means that it was completely engaging. But what made this book the most mind-blowing one was the ending. I was shocked and amazed and I hated and loved it both at the same time.
Now the book still has a lot of unanswered questions, which means there is scope for a sequel but even without that, the book feels complete in itself.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | Pinterest|GoodreadsTumblrInstagram|Youtube


Discover more from Alex's Book Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment