Red Rising by Pierce Brown

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Red Rising (Red Rising, #1)

Add to goodreads

Buy on amazon

Genre: Sci-fi, Fantasy

My Ratings: 4/5 stars

382 pages
Published January 28th 2014 by Del Rey


About this book:

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

My review:

Bloodydamn awesome. Or should it be gorydamn. :/
WHAT AN INCREDIBLE BOOK!
It did start off slow and dare I say it.. Boring?
Because drilling! On Mars! It does SOUND interesting but there are just tehnicalities and it started numbing my brain and after 20 pages, I took a break. A long break and had half a mind to abandon the book but then I thought of the gorydamn awesome reviews this book had and I though there had to be something to it more than what meets the eye and so I kept reading and holy mother of Zeus what awesome stuff I found.
An oppressed society- colorcoded sections. Red being at the bottom, the miners, the slaves and Gold at the top. The rulers and conquerors. The cruel masters. Then there were pink who I thought had it worst. Trained for the sole purpose of providing sexual pleasures. So a good setting. And now the plot.
A revolt.
A secret.
And then a game.
Frankly the game was the best part. All the strategies, brutalities and things Reaper did to become victorious. And then how it ended. It was spectacular. I would have to give it to the author since the writing kept the edge between action and emotions. A game like that isn’t interesting unless you care about the characters. Amd who could care about brute savages who wanted to rip each other apart. Who supports monsters?
And yet, there I go. Adoring reaper, Goblin and even getting impressed (yet slightly repulsed) by the Jackal. No need to even explain the plot twists cz dayum. I would love to read this further and see how it goes. The red has risen, now will the Gold fall? Not easily I assume.

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblrInstagram

Leave a Reply

