Ask The Passengers by A. S. King

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Ask the Passengers

Add to Goodreads

Buy on Amazon

My Ratings: 3/5 stars

 304 pages
Published October 23rd 2012 by Little, Brown BFYR

About this book:

Astrid Jones desperately wants to confide in someone, but her mother’s pushiness and her father’s lack of interest tell her they’re the last people she can trust. Instead, Astrid spends hours lying on the backyard picnic table watching airplanes fly overhead. She doesn’t know the passengers inside, but they’re the only people who won’t judge her when she asks them her most personal questions–like what it means that she’s falling in love with a girl.

As her secret relationship becomes more intense and her friends demand answers, Astrid has nowhere left to turn. She can’t share the truth with anyone except the people at thirty thousand feet, and they don’t even know she’s there. But little does Astrid know just how much even the tiniest connection will affect these strangers’ lives–and her own–for the better.

In this truly original portrayal of a girl struggling to break free of society’s definitions, Printz Honor author A.S. King asks readers to question everything–and offers hope to those who will never stop seeking real love

My review:

I seriously should NOT be reading any more of these contemporaries because I feel like I am just wasting my time. Again, maybe it is just me and I have matured from YA contemporary genre but then again, it could also be the book.
I know that this book dealt with some important themes of perfection and living up to the standards of society and defining everything.
While I did agree with most of the stuff in this book and the message which it tries to convey, I was also left untouched by emotion as I read this.
Astrid, though realistic and complicated enough for me to like her, was too dramatic. With her sending love to the passengers of airplanes and to everyone, even people she didn’t like. It seems like a good thing to do and maybe I am the only one who found it idiotic. Then there’s the fact that she never just screamed out loud. Because with the way she was treated, I expected one outburst of anger and not just an impromptu declaration of her sexuality but straight-edge venting out of frustration.
Even I felt like yelling when I read this book because of Clare’s reputation upholding habit, Astrid’s sister not having her back, her supposed best friend being a pushy bitch.
Still, as I kept reading this book, all I was thinking was *eye roll more teen drama.
I know that coming out of the closet, bullying, confusion about one’s own sexuality are major issues that need to be acknowledged and society’s way of thinking has to be changed but… It’s the writing!
It’s the writing that makes or breaks a book for me. This book’s writing wasn’t lyrical enough or emotional enough for me.
Sorry, Frank Socrates.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblrInstagram

Leave a Reply

