Stranger the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500 Strange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1)

Add to goodreads

Buy on amazon

Rating: 5/5 stars

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult


About this Book:

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.

What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?

My Review:

Wow. I am in awe of this book.
From the prologue, Laini Taylor grabs the dreamer in you through lyrical prose. The writing is so stunningly beautiful that it takes you to another world.
Just the detailed descriptions of this magical world full of Gods, goddesses, Alchemy, carnage, dreams make you forget yourself and live inside it.
Lazlo Strange: From the moment I started reading of him, I knew that he will be a special character in my head. Not like those swoon-worthy fictional characters but like the rough looking one who gently breezes into your heart with his smile. Strange, mich like us readers is a dreamer. he reads of fairy tales and longs for a city whose name was plucked from his mind as a kid when he played make-believe. For years he looked for the name, for the place to be real. Until finally one day, it turns out to be true.
The story is a slow paced one but is necessary to have that build up and with the writing style, you won’t mind reading 500 pages to reach that end. In fact, I still crave for more.
Now where the premise comes in, it is well-built and unique in itself. And the characters, well from Strange the dreamer to the godspawns and Godslayer, each character was intriguing to me.
I had some thoughts about the story told from Sarai’s POV and I was so glad when the author brushed over that too. She left no loose ends. Thyon Nero, well let’s just say I hated hi, but also couldn’t help but pity him. Same goes for Minya. While it felt like Ruby and Feral were just unimportant side characters in this one, I’m really hoping they’ll have some role to play in the sequel.
I loved how this story started off as something new and then built up into something magical. Though I have read Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, I have to say that this book impressed me more. There were some special moments in this book that I would like to mention:

“And they gazed at themselves in it, side by side and hand in hand, and they beheld neither gods nor monsters. They were so nearly unchanged, and yet that one thing – the color of their skin – would, in the real world, change everything.”

 

“I turned my nightmares into fireflies and caught them in a jar.”

The author does have a knack for storytelling. I adored the tales about the Man who loved the moon, the village of Mist and the story Lazlo concocted to get the purse of silver. These tiny tales within the bigger tale were like bits of chocochips in cookies.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

Leave a Reply

