Demons in my Mind by Aashish Gupta

readingabook-alignthoughtsDemons In My Mind

ADD TO GOODREADS

BUY THIS BOOK

GENRE: PSYCHOLOGY, CRIMINOLOGY, DARK FICTION

RATING: 4.5/5 STARS


ABOUT THIS BOOK:

Dakshesh, an old man in Sirubari village suffering from cancer, wishes to be released from the excruciating pain. He requests the villagers to take him to the three monks. They are all intrigued by the legend of the mystical three monks. No one has seen them but only heard stories of miraculous healing they offered.

Knowing that the sick man’s death is imminent, the villagers leave him alone near the Pashupatinath temple hoping that the three monks, if they exist, would embrace him on the holy land. The old man wakes up to the sight of the three monks, but only to know that they are no saints but notorious criminals.

What they tell Dakshesh in his last few breaths, shakes his entire perception of humanity and its sins.

REVIEW:

My train of thoughts when I started reading this book: “What have I gotten myself into? This will be some sort of spiritual book.”
My thoughts while I was reading it,” Why? Why am I reading this? I can’t endure this.”
My thoughts after I had finished, “What did I just read?”
Now take it from a girl who stayed up till late night reading this with a sure thought in her mind that she was going to have nightmares that this was an incredible book.
It starts off little tedious but as soon as the tales of the Monks start, I was captivated. The author’s writing style is so good and lyrical at times but it just helps with the flow of the story. Sure when I read the first tale, I was confused at points but it all gets sorted in the end. Everything makes sense.
The second tale.. Wow. Just the way the details are done about the painting, it won me over.
And then there is the third tale which is one step towards understanding how it all comes together. But the real story starts after those three tales are told.
It is repulsive, horrible. I felt like I was torturing myself just reading it, there were such elements that show the darkest parts of human mind.
I like the theme of the book. I understand it which is why I could appreciate it. To read this book, you will have to have a strong stomach and an open mind.
Moreover, the plot twists came at the most unexpected times and it was shocking. With every element of surprise and torture, I just started appreciating this book more and more.
Yes, there are a few typos in the book but you know what? With a story as strong as that, I do not mind.
This is definitely the goriest, strong and dark book I have ever read and the fact that it is by an Indian author just makes me proud.
I know the author was trying to make people understand the diseased mind and it did that job well. It was a unique concept and yes it felt surreal at times but there was also an element of rawness that makes you connect with it more.
At one point I just broke down and thought, how further can it fall. And then it got worse and when I couldn’t take it anymore, one scene of compassion, it just shattered me completely. I am incapable of words to describe how much I like this book. But since I am indeed an honest reviewer, 4.5 stars.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

Leave a Reply

