Reaper’s Claim by Simone Elise

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Reaper's Claim by Simone Elise
I received an ebook in exchange for my honest opinion and honest it shall be.
Rating: 2.5/5 stars
Published February 15th 2017 by Inkitt


About this Book:
In my motorcycle club I’ve earned the name ‘Reaper’ and now I have my claim on Abby Harrison.
Reaper:
I didn’t know what love was, but I knew what want was, and I wanted Abby. When I walked out of the club and saw her I was stone cold sober. She was quietly beautiful and unlike any other woman I’d had before. But she was the daughter of the president of Satan’s Sons MC and completely out of my reach.
Abby:
Everyone knew The Reaper and how he got his name, so I never expected him to be my salvation when my sisters drunk boyfriend wanted to lay hands on me. I thought my innocence would be lost in that alley, until he showed up and saved me. I know being with Reaper will lead to trouble, but I don’t know if I have the strength to stay away.
Being together might be dangerous, but outlaws are meant to break the rules.
My Review:
I do not like New Adult Romance genre much. But Biker clubs are a weakness of mine. And just look at that cover. I totally had the hots for Reaper from first glance. I knew what sort of story it was going to be. After being familiar with bike gang workings (Binge-watched SOA), I had an idea of what I was getting into. What I did not expect was getting sucked in so badly on an emotional level.
Let’s talk about the good stuff first:
Reaper’s character was messed up and flawed but that is exactly how I like them. And while I liked Abby in the start, her character just became more and more bitchy which made me dislike her immensely. But there was one portion of major badassery on her part that showed her as a strong female protagonist. Alas, it did not last long.
The bond of the club. I love reading about that.
Brad and Drake. When these characters were introduced, I seriously thought they would have a major role to play because I liked them so much. I would have been happy if Abby had ended up with any one of them. But then I reread the book title. Not happening.
The plot is nothing unique but still interesting enough to keep you reading till the end.
Stuff I didn’t like:
Maybe it was because I had the ARC, this book had way too many typos and errors. Hopefully, that won’t be the case with the published book. The repetitiveness. Similar dialogues, everyone calling the girls ‘babe’ all the time (so damn annoying), and the love/hate relationship. One second Kim and Abby are in full on sister mode, the next they are at each other’s throats. Same with Abby and Reaper. It gets old after a while.
The cheating factor and being forgiven for it so easily. Yeah yeah I get it. That’s what happens. The relationship between bikers and their old ladies is messed up. But doesn’t mean anyone could forgive it so easily.
(view spoiler)
Overall, it was a good enough read because messed up as it may be, it was an enjoyable book. And once you connect with the characters, there’s just no way to let go. I brand this as one of the guilty pleasure reads. As long as you turn off the sensible and righteous part of your brain and just read it with emotions, it will be a good book for you.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

Leave a Reply

