The Edge of everything by Jeff Giles

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500The Edge of Everything

Add to Goodreads

Genre: Fantasy, Contemporary

Ratings: 4/5 stars

368 pages
Published January 31st 2017 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest opinion.


About this Book:

For the perfect love, what would you be willing to lose?

It’s been a shattering year for seventeen-year-old Zoe, who’s still reeling from her father’s shockingly sudden death in a caving accident and her neighbors’ mysterious disappearance from their own home. Then on a terrifying sub-zero, blizzardy night in Montana, she and her brother are brutally attacked in a cabin in the woods—only to be rescued by a mysterious bounty hunter they call X.

X is no ordinary bounty hunter. He is from a hell called the Lowlands, sent to claim the soul of Zoe’s evil attacker and others like him. X is forbidden from revealing himself to anyone other than his prey, but he casts aside the Lowlands’ rules for Zoe. As they learn more about their colliding worlds, they begin to question the past, their fate, and their future.

Review:

I did not expect this. Almost every review I have read of this book says the same thing. So I sort of knew that it was going to be a fantasy novel, not a contemporary one and yet I repeat again, I did not expect this. The whole premise of this book, Bounty Hunters and Lords and this hellish place called ‘Lowland’, the main character with his superpowers clearly shows you that this is fantasy. But the underlying theme, with Zoe dealing with her father’s death, Jonah and Zoe’s relationship, her problems with her mother, the wish to find her father’s body, even her star-crossed romance. It makes this book a contemporary. Yeah, this is a mixture of them both. And you know what? I love it.

I am a careful reader so I avoid most hyped books because they end up being disappointing and when I started reading it, I thought it was going to be one of those books. Fortunately, it was not. Yes people! The hype is right. it is an incredible book.

I like all the characters. X is swoon-worthy, so charming and yet innocent (well as innocent as a bounty hunter born in hell could be).

Zoe is strong, brave and adventurous.

Jonah is my little happy pill. He is Zoe’s little brother who has ADHD. He can be adorably clingy sometimes and the way Zoe calls him ‘Bug’, it just made my heart melt.

I even liked Banger and Ripper.

The thing I did not like was the insta-love. Maybe if it had time to build up, this would be a perfect book. The relationship between Zoe and X at no point seemed fake or too cheesy but I like BUILD-UP. The love at first sight is just too stupid or cliche for me to digest. I enjoyed the writing of Jeff Guiles.

The part where both Zoe and X individually are pondering over what they would say if X showed up on her doorstep, it was just so cute. It made me smile, and so did the letter and also X’s tattoo. These little things, little moments was what made this book so good. I would suggest this book to other who want to read some unique genre mixup.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

4 thoughts on “The Edge of everything by Jeff Giles

Leave a Reply

