The Mind Game by Devika Das

readingabook-alignthoughtsThe Mind Game

Add to Goodreads

Rating: 4/5 stars

Genre: Self-help


About this Book:

Crests and troughs, ups and downs, joys and sorrows are a part of everyone’s lives. While many choose to simply succumb to bad times, the winner is the one who remains strong, successfully wades off negativity and rises, unbound. All of us, at some point of time, have experienced situations involving emotional outbursts where we have, albeit unknowingly, hurt others or even our own self and have only ended up regretting our actions. Wouldn’t it be great if we could somehow become mindful of our current emotional state and maintain equilibrium in our personal and professional lives? Moreover, mindfulness helps us realize what we really want from life. It helps us to first think, then act and not vice-versa. The Mind Game is a self-improvement guide that talks about how to manage emotions wisely, and lead a powerful, but stress free life.

My Review:

This book did not get a perfect 5 star rating from me for 2 simple reasons.
1. I do not read self-help books. This was my first and while it was a good book, reading self-help books is an acquired taste and I don’t think I have the knack for it. But that is a personal limitation and is no fault of the author’s.
2. Section F goes on to be way too formal and maybe it is just me and because I am young I could not fully connect or even push myself to read about the workplace and career section. Some people might like to read it.
Actual analysis:
The Mind game is a well-written and well thought out book. From her characterisation of an empath to describing anxiety and other emotional issues, Devika Das has done a damn good job of understanding emotions and writing about them in less analytical and more personal way. I loved the quotes at the beginning of chapters. they fit well with the section and well, basically, I am a sucker for good quotes.
Now, reading this book, there were a lot of things that I connected with on a personal level. Like Page 52. Reading that was like an eye-opener for me and I began to understand myself a little better. Because I do have trouble dealing with emotions, whether it be other people’s or my own. Well, I will be keeping this book with me and treating it as a guide.
One thing I believe that could have been done better was elaborating on the mental diseases related to the emotional issues. Like Alexithymia. I really was curious to know more. In the end I just wanna share a quote from this book that relates a lot with the quote I have remembered and loved for a long time and seeing it in this book just brought a wave of joy.

“We don’t see things as they are. We see them as we are.”

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

