Control- The Treacherous Moon by Tushar Janjalkar

readingabook-alignthoughts

Add to Goodreads

Buy on Amazon

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

Genre; Mystery, Thriller

254 pages
Published January 20th 2017 by Omji Publishing House Pvt. Ltd.


About this Book:
They say your acts resemble the machinations of your thoughts. But the great question is: Are your thoughts, your feelings really yours?
The financial capital of the world, New York, is terror-stricken. Death is crawling forth from the sewers, every full moon nights. On each occasion, an Indian is found involved and the diplomatic relations between the two countries are at breaking point.
NYP detective John is continuously failing to track down the true perpetrators behind these incidents. The situation worsens when John’s case causes a threat to his love, Disha, a neurologist. Alongside, her security becomes his priority.
When Disha learns that it’s not just her life at stake and her own past has united with the present in the cabal to ruin the future of many lives, she secretly sets out to uncover the mystery.
Will Disha and John succeed in their journeys? Or will end up losing everything including their love?
And above all, will the secret of moon ultimately be revealed?

My Review:

Okay so it took me some time to finish this one but I blame that on my schedule, not the book. The book itself is fast-paced and can be finished in one sitting if you have no distractions because let me be honest, while the plot is intriguing and the writing style keeps you interested in knowing the end, I wouldn’t quite call it ‘Captivating’. The book begins in an interesting way that got me hooked from the start. A murder within the first few pages got my brainwaves racing like Sherlock Holmes. The reason I don’t read much Mystery is because I can almost always predict what’s going to happen. But nope, not with this book. The hidden plot twists even had my mind turned for a while. But the smaller twists, well they were easier to guess.

Basically, the story is that this device that can use brain waves to control things goes missing. And there’s a murder, an accident. The basic ‘stuff going wrong and there’s a hidden mystery behind it’ plot. Well, I give bonus points for the uniqueness of the idea.

Now time for constructive criticism:

Even though I understood the importance of Disha and John’s romance, it could have been written better. The author had a good writing style throughout, it was easy to understand and good for mystery but when the romantic scenes came on, it didn’t fit quite well.

While on one hand, I enjoyed the complicated plot which made the book less predictable, it lacked that dramatic spark. I appreciate the author’s wish to keep it realistic on basic levels but it IS FICTION.

The grammatic errors I found in the book irked me but that blame goes to the editor and publisher, not the author. (Also, major repetition of the word ‘Control’. it is the title, I get it. And in some places using the word was appropriate but in other places, it just felt forced.)

Overall, don’t judge this book by its cover. It might not LOOK attractive but it is a good mystery thriller and in this era of romanticism(in Indian literature), the author tried a different genre and excelled in it which is commendable.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

Leave a Reply

