Terminal Love by Vicky Arora

readingabook-alignthoughtsTerminal Love: A gutsy gay love story from the pulsating heart of Mumbai

Add to Goodreads

My Ratings: 3.5 stars

Buy this book

133 pages
Published December 7th 2016 by Kalamos Literary Services
Genre: LGBT,Romance


About this book:

In the mad roller coaster that is Mumbai, two men separated by age, class, and religious faith, find the love they yearn for in each other. This is their true story of braving all odds through the ups and downs in their lives.
What survives is their unconditional acceptance, unwavering commitment, and an unbounded love in the face of an unrelenting fate

My Review:

When I saw this book, a gay love story by an Indian author and set in the heart of Mumbai, I just knew I HAD to read it. It is definitely a new concept, one that if executed right could make for an intense and wonderful book. Well, what this book gained by means of uniqueness, it lacked in the plot. This is a good book, don’t get me wrong. I have never read about characters like Sultan and Vicky, their gayness did not change the typical desi Mumbai heart, they are just same as any other character. Just with more problems because of having to hide their sexual preference.
It is just that this book did not have a strong plot, or any surprises (for me). I could easily guess what was going to happen. Yet I kept reading because I got connected with the characters, and the writing style was good. Since it IS a contemporary story, I can overlook the lack of storyline because this story is all about emotions. And that it captured perfectly, from beginning to end.
Vicky’s hesitance as gay bars, Sultan’s family and simplicity, their friendship, their relation, it all seemed so raw and real. Even when they are fighting (usually when they are drunk), they still have each other’s back and that is not something you see often.
I did hate some parts like Sunny being so mean to his wife but I suppose you can blame that on the circumstances. Overall it was an interesting read. To find a story like this in India where the laws about LGBT are still backwards is a step towards progress and I commend the author for taking that brave initiative. I just wish the book had more interesting elements in it.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

2 thoughts on “Terminal Love by Vicky Arora

Leave a Reply

