ARC Review: Unfolding by Jonathan Friesen

Unfoldingtumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500

Add to Goodreads

Ratings: 2.5/5 stars

288 pages
Expected publication: January 31st 2017 by Blink
Genre: Mystery, Thriller (Paranormal elements)
I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley for an honest review.


About this book:

Jonah wishes he could get the girl, but he’s an outcast and she’s the most perfect girl he knows.
And their futures seemed destined to fork apart: Jonah’s physical condition is debilitating, and epileptic seizures fill his life with frustration. Whereas Stormi is seemingly carefree, and navigates life by sensing things before they happen. And her most recent premonition is urging her to leave town.
When Stormi begs Jonah for help, he finds himself swept into a dark mystery his small town has been keeping for years. And the answers Stormi needs about her own past could possibly destroy everything Jonah has ever known—including his growing relationship with Stormi herself.

My Review:

This is my first book by Jonathan Friesen and it has left me with a big question mark. WHY DO I NOT LIKE THIS BOOK?
It is weird but not creepy weird, more like a thriller with paranormal elements and some unexplainable stuff weird. The characters were just okay for me. I did not really connect with or care about any of them much. Yes, Stormi’s story and Jonah’s narrative did have me intrigued but I cannot comment on the pace of the book because even though the plot was well thought out and the details were necessary, the story felt dragged out at times and confusing at others. It is not the sort of book you get hooked into at once. It actually took me a lot of time to truly get into it and even after that I was not that impressed. There was a general curiosity about the secrets and of course since the title IS ‘Unfolding’, the unveiling of event was interesting. I still felt that there was some spark missing that kept me from really enjoying this book. Maybe it could use a little more emotions. At least there is nothing cliche about this book. If there is something that I favor, it is uniqueness and this book IS quite different from anything I have read before.
It was a strange little book and some scenes were just straight out odd. But it is good to find a book with an epileptic protagonist (haven’t read that before). I still cannot make up my mind about Stormi, such an unusual character. And the romance between Jonah and Stormi, well it looks on-sided for the most part and even when Stormi’s feelings are expressed, I didn’t quite trust it. *shrug
Like I said, it is a weird book. But I’m not sure it is good weird.

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: Unfolding by Jonathan Friesen

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 18th Jan | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

