ARC Review : Freeks by Amanda Hocking

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Freeks

Add to goodreads

Rating: 2.5 stars out of 5

Genre: YA Paranormal

400 pages
Expected publication: January 3rd 2017 by St. Martin’s Griffin

I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. And honest it shall be!


About this Book:

Welcome to Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Sideshow, where necromancy, magical visions, and pyrokinesis are more than just part of the act…

Mara has always longed for a normal life in a normal town where no one has the ability to levitate or predict the future. Instead, she roams from place to place, cleaning the tiger cage while her friends perform supernatural feats every night.

When the struggling sideshow is miraculously offered the money they need if they set up camp in Caudry, Louisiana, Mara meets local-boy Gabe…and a normal life has never been more appealing.

But before long, performers begin disappearing and bodes are found mauled by an invisible beast. Mara realizes that there’s a sinister presence lurking in the town with its sights set on getting rid of the sideshow freeks. In order to unravel the truth before the attacker kills everyone Mara holds dear, she has seven days to take control of a power she didn’t know she was capable of—one that could change her future forever.

My Review:

I feel so underwhelmed with this book. I know Amanda Hocking’s writing style. I enjoyed Frostfire but then its sequels became less and less appealing to me. So when I saw this book, with its gorgeous cover and intriguing blurb, I decided to read some more of Miss Hocking. I can’t point out exactly what’s so wrong about this book. It’s just that the appearence of the book oversells it and when I finally read it I was disappointed and my first thought was, “that’s it?”
I mean when I hear Necromancers, I’m thinking full on zombies or skeletons rising from the dead ( which is awesome) but there was no such thing.
The premise is so good and it had such potential. A carnival of people with actual superpowers and they’re in town because they’re broke. It’s all about money these days. Well people start getting hurt, things get smashed. There were such unique characters, with awesome personalities and powers (Unfortunately, I didn’t connect with a single one). Anyway, something is hunting them . And for the most part I was curious to know what. Well the revelation didn’t blow mind like I wanted it to.
Moving on…… Mara is the main protagonist, who moves with the carnival but has no special powers and dreams of either getting a normal life or having some powers of her own. Well she’s a pretty relatable character apart from the insta-love that happened. Because seriously?
I know that since the carnival was only there for 10 days, the author didn’t have much time to let the characters get to know each other first. But first meeting and they start making out in his bedroom.
description

Now for the main plot, I have to say I’m not impressed. Yeah, the secret of Gabriel, I totally predicted it and the ending is just so rushed that till 88% of this book, there’s a huge build up and then wait for it……………BAM. The end. Ughhhhhh and there’s no struggle whatsoever, everything just sort of happens and is solved.
(view spoiler)

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

9 thoughts on “ARC Review : Freeks by Amanda Hocking

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 4th Jan 2017 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

