Another Tale of Two cities By Ezhuth Aani

readingabook-alignthoughtsAnother tale of two cities

Add to goodreads

Buy this book

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Genre: Historical Fiction

Paperback, 304 pages
Published by Inspire India Publishers


About this Book:

Fourteen thirty one is the year remembered for the martyrdom of Joan of Arc. But another landmark event was unfolding in a future French colony. Cambodia was a cultural cauldron of Hinduism, Mahayana Buddhism and Theravada Buddhism. The largest metropolis of the pre industrial era was also facing a climate change calamity. The story unfolds in fifteenth century Cambodia and travels to China, Sri Lanka, India and the Middle East, as Princes Adithya and Mahendra set out to seek help for their beleaguered country. Will the splendid twin cities of Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom survive? Who wins the heart of Mandagini, the warrior princess?

My Review:

A historical fiction novel by Ezhuth Aani that revolves around two kingdoms Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom. I got hooked into it from the start. A historical setting with a warrior prince and a strong female protagonist with quite interesting writing style that created curiosity about the story.
From the details and references, it is quite evident that the author did his research, about the places as well as religion and mythology quite thoroughly.
I was pretty impressed with the Buddhist principals as mentioned. The transformation that takes place, and what includes in the whole practice. There is also this sizzling chemistry and a forbidden romance going on between Mandagini and our warrior prince Adithya which was a delight to read about. My favorite part about this book would be the beginning and the end. I loved the way it started and even though I’m a bit dissatisfied with the end, it still contains the major twists and surprises.
Now what I didn’t like was that this book isn’t divided.
Yeah, you heard that right, No Chapters. It has 4 parts (breaks) but that’s it. And that sort of irked me. Also, the info-dump. Now I like reading about history as well as religions. But it is only occupying as long as it is rightly proportioned. The middle section of the book made my head spin as so many things were dumped at me all at once.
Still, the action-scenes, the journeys and the characters kept me captivated. I did not expect the plot twist. And I favor Adithya more than Mahendra which might be the reason why I didn’t like Mahendra’s part of the story all that much.
Recommend it to History lovers and religion enthusiasts.
P.S- No link to A tale of two cities by Charles Dickens. It just sounds like it.
I like the cover. It’s very simple. The pages were smooth and this book smells good! (Which isn’t a weird thing to say)

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr| Instagram

3 thoughts on “Another Tale of Two cities By Ezhuth Aani

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 28th Dec 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

