The Wasp factory by Iain Banks (The stuff of nightmares)

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500The Wasp Factory

Add to Goodreads

Buy this book 

Paperback, 192 pages
Published 1998 by Simon & Schuster (NYC)
Genre: Fiction, Horror, Thriller
My Rating:4 out of 5 stars (only because one  part was too much for me otherwise it’s a 5/5)


About this book:
Two years after I killed Blyth I murdered my young brother Paul, for quite different and more fundamental reasons than I’d disposed of Blyth, and then a year after that I did for my young cousin Esmerelda, more or less on a whim.
That’s my score to date. Three. I haven’t killed anybody for years, and don’t intend to ever again.
It was just a stage I was going through.

My Review:
I finished this at 4 am in the morning. So of course, I had nightmares and horrible horrible images in my head for the rest of the night morning. This is the stuff nightmares are made of.
What a weird book. It totally messed up my head, to the point that I had to take a break to gather my thoughts and digest what I was reading. This is NOT for the people who can’t stomach animal cruelty and murder of children (I thought I was one of those people but apparently I’ve got nerves of steel).
You read that blurb?
You’re curious, intrigued. A book about a killer, a psychopath. It’s gonna be one of those mindfuck books you assume.
SO SO WRONG!
Basically this book is an insight into the head of a psychopath. It is messed up on so many levels. In the beginning I was confused, but I just rolled with it. But as soon as I’m halfway through, I can’t believe myself.
My actal thoughts at that time would be , “What the hell am I reading?” “Shit, no.no ..no… don’t let that happen. Well fuck it happened. What the hell is Eric’s deal? His father is shady. Racist and sexist. I don’t like Frank. But I’m very very curious.”
And one constant thought throughout. How the hell did the author imagine all this?
It was bizarre. The way it is all normalized. I think that’s what I found the most disturbing. One minute, there are all these dark murderous sadistic rituals going on, the next Frank and his father are having casual dinner. Even the way Frank and Eric’s relationship is portrayed. I know they’re psychos and yet I’m thinking, “Aww he cares about his brother (who was in a mental institution btw)” Does this make any sense? Absolutely not. And that’s messed up.
It’s like the book is a maze with mysteries and secrets you want to unravel, so you just accept the rest of sickening stuff that would make your head spin if it wasn’t written with such clear precise and emotionless way.
The writing is what makes this book so incredible. It was brilliant.

“A death is always exciting, always makes you realise how alive you are, how vulnerable but so-far-lucky; but the death of somebody close gives you a good excuse to go a bit crazy for a while and do things that would otherwise be inexcusable. What delight to behave really badly and still get loads of sympathy!”

“Sometimes the thoughts and feelings I had didn’t really agree with each other, so I decided I must be lots of different people inside my brain.”

A lot of similar lines and passages were very profound and thought provoking.

Frank is on my list of psychopaths you never want to come across right alongside Patrick Bateman (American Psycho) and Buffalo Bill (Silence of the lambs).
Also, I bloody hate wasps. (I’m waiting for someone to break into the Ed Sheeran’s One Night)
If we talk outside
Say I hate wasps too
I don’t really dance
So I’ll just watch you (Not appropriate but I just thought of it)

Now a special side note. I kinda sorta predicted some things about Frank, which turned out to be true. Take that Mr. I-dare-you-to-predict-The-wasp-Factory! I’ve got some KILLER gut instinct (pun intended) 😀

But you gave me your copy of the book. And it was so fucked up that I loved it. I’ll definitely be re-reading this. 
4 thoughts on “The Wasp factory by Iain Banks (The stuff of nightmares)

Leave a Reply

