ARC Review: Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Black Widow (Jack Parlabane, #7)
432 pages
Published January 28th 2016 by Little, Brown
Genre: Mystery, Crime, Fiction
My rating : 4 out of 5 stars
I received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Buy this book: Amazon.in, Amazon.com


About this book:
Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.
Then she meets Peter. He’s kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she’s been waiting for.
Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.
But Peter’s sister Lucy doesn’t believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow…

My review:
Books like this, they’re the reason I have trust issues. This book starts off as we meet our main character, a surgeon who blogs about sexism in the field of medicine – BladeBitch. First of all, I love the name, and I love how dark yet sane the character was. Sometimes though, you’d surely think of her as a psychopath. Well when the story begins to unfold, there are lots of twists in store and I went from, “Hmm this is interesting” to “Wait, I’m having doubts about this character” to “Holy hell, what just happened?” It was such a rollercoaster ride and even though I made some asumptions, I couldn’t have guessed the ending. One hell of a mystery book this was. And honestly, I didn’t know this book was part of a series when I requested it on Netgalley but I understood it fine without reading the previous books. It was a web of intricate details and clues that finally lead up to a plot twist that you don’t see coming. It gave me the Gone Girl vibe so if you liked that book, be sure to give this a try.

This is someone you donot want to fuck with. This is a woman who will make it her purpose in life to settle the score. They say payback’s a bitch? Then believe me: you don’t want payback from the Bladebitch.

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 2nd Nov 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

