ARC Review : Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Stealing Snow (Stealing Snow, #1)

Add on Goodreads

Rating : 2 stars

384 pages
Expected publication: October 6th 2016 by Bloomsbury Childrens
Genre:  Fairy Tale Retelling, YA Fantasy

I received a free ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

About this book:

Seventeen-year-old Snow lives within the walls of the Whittaker Institute, a high security mental hospital in upstate New York. Deep down, she knows she doesn’t belong there, but she has no memory of life outside, except for the strangest dreams. And then a mysterious, handsome man, an orderly in the hospital, opens a door – and Snow knows that she has to leave …
She finds herself in icy Algid, her true home, with witches, thieves, and a strangely alluring boy named Kai. As secret after secret is revealed, Snow discovers that she is on the run from a royal lineage she’s destined to inherit, a father more powerful and ruthless than she could have imagined, and choices of the heart that could change everything. Heroine or villain, queen or broken girl, frozen heart or true love, Snow must choose her fate …
My Review :
Seriously? Why in heaven’s name did I finish this book? Because I love retellings, and even though I abandoned Dorothy must die after 2 books, doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy reading them. (The 3rd book just wasn’t for me). So I see Snow Queen retelling with the name Danielle Paige and of course, I’m excited to read it. I’m only human. Human have hope, faith…. And they get disappointed too. Which is exactly what happened with this book. It started off quite interesting, with the main protagonist Snow in an insane asylum. She draws to get the frustration out. She loves Bale, another patient. How adorable right? Until it’s not. Turns out she’s not crazy, she’s just special (and I mean special like Super Snow powers, I’ll freeze you if you come close kind). And as she runs off to the magic land, to save her one and only true love, everything goes to shit. After that, it’s no world-building(I wanted to know more about the place but nothing), clićhes after clićhes, love squares because Snow just kisses every boy she meets, who cares about Bale anyway? And I already guessed most of the stuff that happened towards the ending, so it was kinda predictable too. Kai, Jagger, Duchess, it seemed that they were just there to drag the story along. I didn’t care about a single character, even the world that had been frozen couldn’t melt my stone-heart. I don’t get it. One minute Snow knows nothing about her powers, the next she’s training but is not really good at it. But suddenly she’s all high and mighty, I can freeze the world kinda strong. What is that all about huh? And Secrets you say. Secrets are supposed to shock/surprise you, but when the secret is revealed in this books, I just went “Huh, really? Okay.” With a blank face. But that is just my opinion. Someone might enjoy the Snowy Alice in Wonderland thing going on. And even the love-interests. I’m just not that someone.
7 thoughts on “ARC Review : Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 21st Sep 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

