Lolita By Vladimir Nabokov

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Lolita

Goodreads : Link

Buy the Book : Amazon.com, Amazon.in

My Ratings : 4 stars

378 pages
Published February 3rd 2000 by Penguin Books (first published 1955)
Genre: Classic, Literature, Fiction


About this Book :
Humbert Humbert – scholar, aesthete and romantic – has fallen completely and utterly in love with Lolita Haze, his landlady’s gum-snapping, silky skinned twelve-year-old daughter. Reluctantly agreeing to marry Mrs Haze just to be close to Lolita, Humbert suffers greatly in the pursuit of romance; but when Lo herself starts looking for attention elsewhere, he will carry her off on a desperate cross-country misadventure, all in the name of Love. Hilarious, flamboyant, heart-breaking and full of ingenious word play, Lolita is an immaculate, unforgettable masterpiece of obsession, delusion and lust.
My Review:

I adore her so horribly.

Now ain’t that the truth? Lolita is extremely glorified story of pedophilia. And when I say glorified, I mean it. Even with this terrible theme, Humbert’s narration makes you feel sad for him. He is so charming with his words that it messes with your head. And now I know why some people think of it as a tragic love story. With such an unreliable narrator your mind gets twisted, I know mine did. But I couldn’t ignore the wrongness of Humbert’s desire and the lengths he would cross to satisfy them. It took me almost 2 weeks to finish this book. Why? Because (a) I don’t read many classics and I’m not used to the writing style and so after a few pages, my head starts hurting and (b) I stopped myself from cringing every time Humbert Humbert would talk about her little nymphet and how she seduced him with every move she made. (Even though he made it sound like love and playfulness, I saw right through the deception, thus the cringing).
Reading about Humbert’s passion for Lolita was like Hannibal Lectar describing his dinner. It’s disgusting but done with such sophistication as only an intelligent and charming man can. I think this book would leave different impression on every reader which would also show the reflection of their own ideas.

9 thoughts on “Lolita By Vladimir Nabokov

  1. I can’t believe I’ll have to reread this for uni this semester. I DNFed it earlier this year. I hated the style and could not see what the beauty I heard about was. I did a lot of cringing too, haha!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I had to read Lolita last year for uni. And to be honest, I kind of hated it. I can acknowledge that Nabokov is a brilliant writer and that this is a great piece of literature, but I just couldn’t bring myself to like it. So much cringing. And I also hate it when people describe this as a love story. It creeps me out (and makes me want to throw a lot of really bad curse words around). No matter how charming HH seems and no matter how much he twists the story with his choice of words and his sophistication, he will never be anything but a pedophile who abused a child.

    Anyways, in other news, I tagged you for “The Blogger Recognition Award” (a tag), here:
    https://mreadsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/09/11/blogger-recognition-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

