My First and probably last look into Abbi Gline’s books

Hands up if you’ve heard Abbi Gline’s name around the booksphere.

Image result for hands up gif

If you haven’t, she’s a pretty famous New Adult Novelist and even though I don’t usually read or enjoy romance books that much, I pick them up occasionally. Sometimes you get tired of all the fantasy and dystopian and just need a feel good happy-ending senseless romance to make you feel giddy.  And since I’ve heard people rave about Abbi Gline’s I thought Meh, let’s see what she got.

So I picked up the first book I saw on Goodreads being Fallen Too Far (Rosemary Beach #1) by Abbi Glines 

Fallen Too Far (Rosemary Beach, #1; Too Far, #1) To want what you’re not supposed to have…
She is only nineteen.
She is his new stepfather’s daughter.
She is still naïve and innocent due to spending the last three years taking care of her sick mother.
But for twenty-four year old Rush Finlay, she is the only thing that has ever been off limits. His famous father’s guilt money, his mother’s desperation to win his love, and his charm are the three reasons he has never been told no. Blaire Wynn left her small farmhouse in Alabama, after her mother passed away, to move in with her father and his new wife in their sprawling beach house along the Florida gulf coast. She isn’t prepared for the lifestyle change and she knows she’ll never fit into this world. Then there is her sexy stepbrother who her father leaves her with for the summer while he runs off to Paris with his wife. Rush is as spoiled as he is gorgeous. He is also getting under her skin. She knows he is anything but good for her and that he’ll never be faithful to anyone. He is jaded and has secrets Blaire knows she may never uncover but even knowing all of that…
Blaire just may have fallen too far.

My review:

Now I know what you’re thinking probaby the same as what I was thinking, with that cover it had to be one of those “Damn-she’s-hot,Damn-he’s-sexy, so let’s call their hooking up LOVE story”. If you’ve read the blurb you’ll know that there’s a step brother romance (which I don’t particularly enjoy) and also The bad boy good girl thing which is so damn mainstream. And you must be thinking to yourself, “What made you pick up this book,huh? I can see it clearly that it’s a bad idea.” I had hope, okay? In my fellow bloggers who liked Abbi Glines and in the author herself.

So I started reading and as expected HATED Rush from the first moment and pitied Blaire. It was all that I expected (every damn cliche come to life) except the second half where things finally got interesting and when all the secrets were out in the open, THAT’S when I could emotionally connect with the characters but by then I was too annoyed to really enjoy it. This book should be flipped. That’s how romance books should be, emotions first and all the she-hot,he-sexy, let’s jump each other’s bones LATER. If that had happened, I’d have given this book 5 stars. And I haven’t even talked about the other characters yet because they’re barely even there. I would like to read about Grant (maybe there is another book written on him) and Nan’s a queen bitch. I DON’T CARE WHAT YOU WENT THROUGH. Blaire lost her mother and you don’t see her spreading poison with her words. 

I think most people wouldn’t like this book but the 4 and 5 star reviews on Goodreads tell me otherwise. Myself, I give this 3 stars out of 5. And if you think you’d like to read this book and make up your own mind about it, buy it on Amazon.com, Amazon.in

By now you would think I would have had enough of Abbi Glines, but nope. I was going to try something else and maybe that would be THE BOOK for me. This time I tried something different, a paranormal New Adult, there couldn’t be much cliche here right? WRONG.

Existence (Existence Trilogy #1) by Abbi Glines

Existence (Existence Trilogy, #1)What happens when you’re stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course. Pagan Moore doesn’t cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him.
Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.
Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all. He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.
 

Review:

I SHOULD have read  the blurb before picking this up. Maybe that would’ve stopped me from the mistake I made. But I just saw the cover which reminded me so much of the Obsidian cover (Lux series) and since I liked that book, I picked this one as well. Stupid of me, I know.

We meet Pagan who has the abilities to see souls (mute and harmless) but then she sees one soul who can talk to her and also wouldn’t leave her alone. Pagan who volunteers to tutor at school and despises jocks (because they’re always jerks *eyeroll) has been asked to teach Leif (the jock).And she finds that she was wrong about him and he isn’t a jerk at all but is actually quite nice. I just find that I liked Leif and I hated how he was taken for granted and was just a conflicting love interest. Because there just has to be a love triangle right?

Pagan gets into an accident but is miraculously saved. And now there’s a new guy in town(school), Dank who is smexy with the devilish smirk and secrets, oh and he’s also the soul that talked to Pagan. But Dank can’t be WITH Pagan and can’t tell her anything because he has already broke some “rules”. Now there needs to be a suspense and a cloud of mystery surounding him right? That would create the appropriate sexual tension and intrigue but the blurb already spoils it (not for me though) Dank’s death. So the rest of the book is just Pagan thinking”Oh I want Dank, but Leif make me feel normal” and Dank saying “I can’t be with you. I’m full of darkness. This is wrong. I NEED you but I can’t be with you.” And that’s all there is to this book.

Image result for groaning gif

I give it 2 out of 5 stars and if you want to endure all that yourself, buy this book amazon.com. amazon.in

Me, I’m not picking up another Abbi Glines book, period!

Untitled

Join me on TwitterFacebook | PinterestGoodreadsTumblr

2 thoughts on “My First and probably last look into Abbi Gline’s books

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 31st August 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

  2. Shoot. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy them. I jumped into the series half way through and still haven’t read the first books. I totally get what you’re saying. My favorite of hers so far has been Until Friday Night. (I think that’s the name of it, at least.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

