No one is Invincible by Shawn Walker

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500No One Is Invincible

Goodreads : Link

Buy the Book : Amazon.com, Amazon.in

My Ratings : 3.5 stars

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Paperback, 370 pages
Published May 8th 2016 by Page Publishing, Inc.

About this Book :

Life is a precious thing. This is something sixteen year old John knows all too well. Intelligent, punk rock, and seemingly alone in a home filled with domestic violence, John runs away and finds himself homeless and living on the streets. Faced with hunger, horrid winter weather, and human ignorance, John struggles to find morality in the world around him. That is, until the love and help of a mysterious old lady who goes by the name “Mom” and charismatic, 6 year old little girl, Candy, show him light can be found in the darkest of places. Can John face down not only homelessness, but also the fear of losing a loved one to a very deadly killing agent, cancer?

My Review:

You know how we hear that “Teenagers think they’re invincible. That they can do anything”

That’s the first thought that crossed my mind when I saw the title. And after seeing the cover, I thought, it’d be some story of a teenager doing stupid things and discovering himself in the process.

I was so wrong.
When you think things are getting better, it gets worse. And it’s such an emotional book. Homeless, starving, and responsible for a kid, that’s too much responsibility for John. And even though I loved candy, she is just a kid and kids get needy. I saw his struggle to balance everything, surviving and taking care of Candy.And I saw him trying to be happy even when the circumstances were terrible. I think this book showed me the harshest of truth and I needed to see it. When we see a homeless person, none of us stops to think about his story and what circumstances brought him there, how he’s trying to survive day after another. All our problems seem superficial compared to that. I really liked the story and the message this book was trying to convey. What I didn’t enjoy much was the writing style. When I read the first few passages, it felt like I was reading some kid’s journal. And John’s way of talking irked me. Sometime he talked stupidly and other times like a pretentious person. I also found that Candy’s dialogues didn’t match up with her age. There’s one character that felt real to me and that’s Josh but Alas! we only have a few chapters with him. Now mentioning Mom (Why Mom? Like what kind of nick-name is mom? I mean I get that she’s a motherly figure but still, you can’t just name her Mom. Oh wait, you can! Writer’s freedom. But still I thought that there wasn’t any creativity with the names and the flow of writing wasn’t that good. But the theme, it’s worth it.

(I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.)

Untitled 

Join me on TwitterFacebookPinterestGoodreads, Tumblr

 

One thought on “No one is Invincible by Shawn Walker

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 24th August 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

