Swear on this life by Renee Carlino

tumblr_n6hno2qIxr1sfxmouo1_500Swear on This Life

Goodreads : Link

Buy the Book : Amazon.com, Amazon.in

My Ratings : 5 stars

320 pages
Published: August 9, 2016

Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary


About this Book :

When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer.
Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in love and dream of a better life beyond the long dirt road that winds through their impoverished town in rural Ohio.
That’s because the novel is patterned on Emiline’s own dark and desperate childhood, which means that “J. Colby” must be Jase: the best friend and first love she hasn’t seen in over a decade. Far from being flattered that he wrote the novel from her perspective, Emiline is furious that he co-opted her painful past and took some dramatic creative liberties with the ending.
The only way she can put her mind at ease is to find and confront “J. Colby,” but is she prepared to learn the truth behind the fiction?

 

My review :

Ahhhhhh! *screams of frustration*

 

*swoon*

 
Holy jesus, I can’t do this anymore. It’s too intense.

 

*Yells at the book*


That’s me throughout this book.
I LOVED IT. It was Captivating, Stunning and totally dragged me in. 
In my mind I’m comparing it to It ends with us because there are similarities and where Jax/Jase isn’t nearly as amazing as Atlas, he is still pretty damn fine. (I hated him at first because he was a selfish d-bag who wrote the book without even asking her, like what the hell dude? You gonna share her story with the whole world and you don’t even ask) but as the story progressed, I got over it. He is just too irresistible. I found Em annoying in the beginning because her relationship with Trevor and her whole persona made her seem like a selfish bitch who whines a lot. But I got over that too. Because when I read about her past, I understood her character.
The writing is beautiful and I loved the dialogues, it was so emotional and I can’t say I finished it in one sitting because I literally jumped up and shook my whole body and got all hyper because I just couldn’t handle it. So I took 1 minute breaks and even though I was frustrated, I just couldn’t stop reading. I HAD TO FINISH IT. There was this desperation to find out what happens next but towards the end, I just didn’t want it to end. Still the pages kept turning, till it ended. It was so intense sometimes and incredible too. It consumed my time, my attention and the rest of the world just didn’t exist for that moment. I hate comparing but I’ll say again, this only happens (in case of romance books that I don’t read a lot) when I’m reading a Colleen Hoover book.
My favorite part about this book has to be the book Jase wrote, reading those snippets of the past was definitely interesting. And how there was a book inside the book and there was another book inside that too, and another one. Books <3, (don’t worry it didn’t become confusing). Eh, what was I saying again?
Oh yes, I love reading about characters who are readers/writers themselves. It’s the bookworm in me! And before I go on Rambling about everything….. Again, I just have to say this was a brilliantly written book that amazed me and I’m still drowning in the feels so pick it up. Just read it okay? Swear on this life!

P.S – This book has ruined me and I’m unable to read and enjoy another book  because nothing can compare! I just started The Demon King, and I don’t like it so far. I’m thinking of abandoning it, so if someone has read it, let me know if I should stick around 🙂

UntitledJoin me on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Goodreads, Tumblr

4 thoughts on “Swear on this life by Renee Carlino

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 17th August 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

