Book Review- Super Women by Prachi Garg

readingabook-alignthoughts

Goodreads : Link

Buy the Book : Amazon.com, Amazon.in

Page count: 168 pages

Published February 10th 2016 by Srishti Publishers & Distributors
Genre : Non-fiction, life, Anthology, Inspirational
My Rating : 4 stars
(I received an ebook in exchange for my honest review)

About this Book :

This book brings forth the stories of twenty women entrepreneurs who have struck a perfect personal-professional harmony, and a chord with their immediate consumers. Their innovative ventures encompass a varied range of services – from supporting victims of acid attacks, to providing free skin care solutions; from online retail of lingerie, handmade bags and fashion accessories, to eco-friendly products of everyday utility; from pet care products, to quirky merchandise; from empowering folk artists, to providing clinical assistance to those going through tough times; from image consulting to house hunting; from arty solutions, to innovative marketing and corporate communication; from creating happy readers to making religious ceremonies simpler – these entrepreneurs have opened avenues formerly unexplored. Superwomen is an interesting journey of how they played all their roles to perfection, aligning their families with their ambitions, showing the world their true mettle.

My Review:

First things first, I DONOT read many non-fiction books. Infact, do you want to know how many non-fic books I’ve read before this one?  ZERO. I’m just mentioning that so you know, I’m not the best judge.And now that I think about the one thing I didn’t like about this book, the writing style, it may be because I’m not used to reading this kind of books. The writing shifts from being essay-like and formal to familiar and informal.  I didn’t like the formal style, because it seemed like advertising for all the websites and work done by these amazing women. But then, I read about how they worked on it, their thoughts, the challenges they faced and of course how the idea came to them and I felt so inspired and happy.

But I wasn’t going to just let it go when the book ended, so I went and researched on all these women, checked their websites, read about THEM and that’s why it has taken me so long to write this review, when I finished the book two days ago. You know me, I obsess over these things. Whereas some people might see this book as a tribute to feminism or women empowerment, I saw it as something that shows the reward of hard work. The stories of 20 women who worked towards achieving their goals, who weren’t satisfied with their desk jobs and wanted more from their lives. They also wanted to help people, to make this world a better place.

Just take the story of Richa Singh who started your D.O.S.T  to offer support, suggestions and help to people who need friends or just someone to talk to about their problems. This is the kind of thing that makes me feel good about the world.

Having a bad day? Having doubts about yourself? Feeling like you can’t do anything right? This book is the touch of positivity you need.

Note for the Readers: For a girl who lives in India, I haven’t read many books by Indian Authors, and to change that habit, I’ll be experimenting  and reading more diverse books by Indian Authors. Get ready for lots of reviews 🙂

Join me on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Goodreads

One thought on “Book Review- Super Women by Prachi Garg

  1. Pingback: THE SUNSHINE BLOGGER AWARD! | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

