It ends with us by Colleen Hoover – Book Review

 

Goodreads : Link

Buy this book : Amazon.in, Amazon.com

Page count: 384 pages
Published August 2nd 2016 by Atria Books
Genre : Romance, Contemporary, Abuse

Rating : 4.5 stars.

Blurb:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true. 


Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.
As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

Review :

I so badly wanted to give it 5 stars. And if I had written this review right after finishing the book, I would have. But.. I didn’t. I slept. I thought about the book, about the faults. And that’s why I can say that 4.5 stars it is.
This book is incredible. From “Naked Truths” to Ellen Diaries, it’s full of such honest moments. I cried 2 times, my throat closed up while reading the Author’s note and I think I fell in love with CoHo’s writing ever more after reading this.

What I loved about this book:

How honest it is and the way it potrays the relationship between Ryle and Lily. Mainly, seeing things through Lily’s head just changed my mind about a lot of things.

Atlas. I fell so in love with this character, you can’t even imagine how it feels right now. He is PERFECT. He’s Homeless, he smells but he’s perfect.

“In the future . . . if by some miracle you ever find yourself in the
position to fall in love again . . . fall in love with me.” He presses his lips against my forehead. “You’re still my favorite person, Lily. Always will be.”

The writing. That’s always my favorite thing about CoHo’s books. How amazingly she writes.

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who
sometimes do bad things.”

The main theme of this book and how it captivated my attention and emotions. I just couldn’t stop reading.
At page 240, I was too emotionally involved in the book, I never wanted it to end. But it did end, and I’ve never been more satisfied with an ending.

Things I didn’t like:

Ryle. (But for different reasons that you might think). His charm just didn’t work on me. When he was first introduced, a handsome guy, big arms, he’s honest, he’s a neurosurgeon. I should’ve felt something right? New character, I should be excited or curious. I wasn’t.

(view spoiler)

It ended too soon. I would’ve liked to read more about Atlas’ friends. Just read more. This book needs more pages because it was wonderful and I can’t deal that it’s finished.

P. S Lily and Marshall are both characters in this book. How I met your mother anyone? I’ve been Binge-watching the show and I can’t stop thinking about it.

15 thoughts on “It ends with us by Colleen Hoover – Book Review

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 10th August 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

  2. Pingback: Swear on this life by Renee Carlino | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Books From 2016 - Dipanshu Rawal

Leave a Reply

