Harry Potter and the Cursed child by J K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Goodreads : Link
My rating : 4 stars
352 pages
Published July 31st 2016 by Little Brown UK
Genre: Fantasy, Magic
Buy this book (If you haven’t already)  : Amazon.in, Amazon.com


Book Blurb : (Like you even need to read it, once you find out there’s a new Harry Potter book out)

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places. 

My review :

Read my immediate Goodreads review (5 min after finishing the book) : here

It was perfect and much more. The second I got my hands on this book, I abandoned every other thing I was reading and didn’t stop reading this until I was finished. Because that’s how much I love Harry Potter. Not the character (He’s kinda stupid, that hasn’t changed.) but the books!
And where this wasn’t J K Rowling level good, I still enjoyed reading it.

This book wasn’t without its faults. And I hate to say it, because I was so amazed yesterday when I finished it. But not, that I actually think about it, there are some things that I just don’t understand.

Spoiler Alert: (Select the text below to view spoiler)
Bellatrix and Voldemort’s kid. Like.. What? And the timing doesn’t add up. It is just a mess. Also, remember the quote “Awful things happen to wizards who meddle with time.”
Albus and Scorpius went back years and still nothing. Are you kidding me?

………………………………………..

I adored James Potter Jr. Oh kid, you’ll make Fred and George proud.
And that reminds me, I HATE how there’s no mention of the Weasley twins. Where is George? Nowhere!

tumblr_inline_n3rqdmrgm21sohk3w

The scenes with Severus Snape hit me right in the feels. And I like how we get to see different realities (won’t spoil any further).
Albus and Scorpius have such a strong bond and I loved their friendship.  A Potter and a Malfoy, best friends. What more do I need to say? And Scorpius is  a total nerd, little insecure and it’s fun reading about him. I don’t know who he takes after.
Also, when did Draco become so smart and compassionate?

boys-draco-malfoy-gif-green-favim-com-3990358
McGonagall is the headmistress and she’s slaying it. She’s as awesome as always.

DRACO: “Sorry about your floor, Minerva.”
PROFESSOR McGONAGALL: “I dare say it’s my fault for owning a chimney.”

Ron and Hermione are so cute together. I loved reading about them. And of course Ron is the funny uncle to James, Albus and Lily Potter.
Rose is so similar to Hermione, I tell you.
Whatever the story lacked, the characters made up for it. And I could never not love anything Harry Potter.
The only thing I want now is MORE HARRY POTTER. This 350 page play isn’t even close to being enough.

Love, Alex 🙂

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed child by J K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 3rd August 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

