This Savage song by Victoria Schwab- Book Review

image

Goodreads : Link
My Ratings : 4.5 stars
Page count : 464 pages
Published July 5th 2016 by Greenwillow Books
Buy this book : Amazon.com, Amazon.in
Genre : YA Fantasy, Paranormal

My Review :

“It began with a bang.”

At the start of this book when I read the first line, I knew I was going to enjoy it. 

“The night Kate Harker decided to burn down the school chapel, she wasn’t angry or drunk. She was desperate.”

I will not go into details explaining Kate’s character to you more than this quote already does. She burned down her school chapel. (She’s ruthless.) But the real Kate, she’s desperate. Desperate for her father’s approval, to earn his trust, to be her father’s daughter. This kinda irked me while reading this book. It’s not like her father is some sort of a great man. He’s a monster (figuratively) in the world of monsters (literally) . 

Now I dove into this book without reading the blurb because I like to do that sometimes, when I want to be surprised. And this is Schwab we’re talking about here. Everything she writes is golden. 
But this time, it was mistake because I was confused with all the terror and post-apocalyptic atmosphere. But I continued reading anyway. So turns out, there are real monsters living in this world and they’re at war. With humans and with each other. 

This reminds me one thing I didn’t like about this book. The origin of these monsters isn’t explained completely. (it’s quite vague. I’d have liked to know more.) 

“Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.
Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.” 

I love the creepy rhymes. Also, these are the kinds of monsters Corsai, Malchai and Sunai. Harker keeps the Malchai and Corsai under control. 
And Flynn works with the Sunai. 
There’s a truce that shouldn’t be broken or people will die. (But of course things would go wrong) 

Let’s talk about August now, I didn’t expect to fall for him. It just happened. He stole my soul. A monster who is more human than anyone in this book! And when I read about his struggle, desperation and need to suppress the monster inside him, I tell you I just couldn’t not love him. 

I enjoyed the dynamic between Kate and August, their conversations and how there was NO ROMANCE (Thank heavens!) In the further books, if they start falling for each other, I’d totally ship it. But still in this setting I liked how they were just friends. A human who did monsterous things and a monster who wanted to be human. Awwww. 

“I read somewhere,” said Kate, “that people are made of stardust.”
He dragged his eyes from the sky. “Really?”
“Maybe that’s what you’re made of. Just like us.”
And despite everything. August smiled.” 

Terrific World building 
Insanely likeable Characters
Action-packed, creepy and thrilling scenes 
Magical Writing
Plot twist and nicely wrapped up ending
Additional cliffhanger to make you want the next book
Everything checked!

There are no reasons why you shouldn’t read this book. And many of us book lovers have been waiting for a Good Book with No romance, right? Here it is. 

P. S – This isn’t Victoria Schwab’s best work. She has set a pretty high standard, but it’s still a good book.

Love, Alex 🙂

7 thoughts on “This Savage song by Victoria Schwab- Book Review

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 3rd August 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

