ARC Review – We awaken by Calista Lynn

image

image

Goodreads : Link
My Ratings : 3 stars
Buy this e-book kindle format : here
Pre- order this book : Here

About this book :

Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look forward to. Since her father died in a car accident, she lives only to fulfill her dream of being accepted into the Manhattan Dance Conservatory. But soon she finds another reason to look forward to dreams when she encounters an otherworldly girl named Ashlinn, who bears a message from Victoria’s comatose brother. Ashlinn is tasked with conjuring pleasant dreams for humans, and through the course of their nightly meetings in Victoria’s mind, the two become close. Ashlinn also helps Victoria understand asexuality and realize that she, too, is asexual.
But then Victoria needs Ashlinn’s aid outside the realm of dreams, and Ashlinn assumes human form to help Victoria make it to her dance audition. They take the opportunity to explore New York City, their feelings for each other, and the nature of their shared asexuality. But like any dream, it’s too good to last. Ashlinn must shrug off her human guise and resume her duties creating pleasant nighttime visions—or all of humanity will pay the price.

My review :

First of all, just look at that beautiful cover and how gorgeous it would look just sitting on your shelf!
I got an e-ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review and when I heard that this book was a fantasy with asexual characters and something about the dream world, I couldn’t resist reading it right away. And it wasn’t that long so didn’t take me much time either. Now as to what I think about this book, my thoughts are conflicted. So I’m just going to lay it all out for you.

Positive points :

I like the main character Victoria and how she’s written, a little confused and self-conscious. She isn’t that open or fun-loving but considering her father died and brother is in a coma, it’s acceptable. Also, she’s a ballerina and trying to discover her sexuality.
I think I’ve never read a book about asexuals, I didn’t even know that was a thing before. It’s a unique concept that adds to the charm of the book.

Ellie is my absolute favorite. She’s outgoing, kinda crazy best friend who speaks her mind. And so what if she didn’t understand asexuality at first, I didn’t either!

Negative points :

Unanswered questions and not so well-built world. The dream world and the concept of having two people responsible for making dreams and nightmares seems fine. But there are too many missing pieces that weren’t explained. Like how can Ashlin spend time in Victoria’s dream and still be creating dreams for others. How is she at so many places at the same time? I mean the answer’s obvious, magic. But I hate how that topic didn’t even come up in the book. And why did she pick Victoria out of all the people to be with. Victoria’s reasons for being with Ashlin seem understandable but we don’t know anything about why Ashlin’s doing all this.

Why the hell isn’t there more to this book? It seems more like a contemporary than a fantasy novel because of such a weak world-building. And if this book was really a contemporary novel (just make Ashlin a real person and remove the dream world)  it would have been so amazing. A contemporary book about an asexual Ballerina discovering love. Now doesn’t that sound perfect! But that just ain’t so.
More things to consider :

I think this book could become so much more if it’s made into a longer book. I mean it’s a fantasy book, they’re meant to be long because details and premise and back stories. I want to know more about Semira. And it would have been great to have more parts about Reeves and Victoria together as kids, also, Victoria and her father. Her relationship with her mother could’ve been better explored. There’s just so much potential with this story that it feels incomplete somehow.

But that’s just me. Hey, some people loved this book. I’ve seen some 5 star reviews. Maybe I just have high expectations now. But I did like the book, even with all its flaws.

About the author :

Calista Lynne is a perpetual runaway who grew up on the American East Coast and is currently studying in London. She is having difficulty adjusting to the lack of Oxford commas across the pond and writes because it always seemed to make more sense than mathematics. Look for her near the caffeinated beverages.

calista-lynne.tumblr.com

calista-lynne.blogspot.com

@calistawrites

Join me on TwitterFacebookPinterestGoodreads

Love, Alex 🙂

Leave a Reply

