Unpopular opinion – Outlander Book review

image

Goodreads : Link

Buy This Book : Amazon.in (Paperback Rs.481), Amazon.com (Paperback $6.43)
Summary :

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.


Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

My review:

This has seldomely happened. Usually when everyone loves a book, it turns out to be a good book, one that I love too. But that isn’t what happened this time with Outlander.
You see it is a 900 pages long historical fiction romance novel that has time-travel in it. And it was pretty slow in the start but I was warned about it (and told to stick around) . Then we meet Jamie and things start getting better but still there isn’t a strong plot in the story. Or anyone besides Jaimie, Claire and Jack Randall that was even remotely interesting to me. But I was like, there must be some storyline. Everyone loves this book..
Then they get *spoiler alert*
Married. For various reasons and I’m thinking, now it would get interesting  but it only got more romantic(and I don’t mind that). I actually started to love Jamie. Until HE FUCKING HIT HER. And you (to the author) can write up a thousand reasons, tell every sappy story from Jamie’s past but there’s no way I’ll be able to look at him the same way ever again.
I would have hated him a little less if Claire had punched him in the face or hurt him in some way. But nooo, she just let him be. A few sad stories from his past and they’re back to laughing and riding into the sunset. Okay I get it that he promised to never do it again. And I was like FINE, I’ll let you get away with it, just this once.
But then they’re making jokes about it. Later in the book when he says, ” I can bear pain myself, but I couldna bear yours. That would take more strength than I have. ”
WTF dude? YOU HURT HER but that was justified huh? Because you’re her husband?
Ugh I hate this book, okay?
Actually I don’t, despite everything I just said, Jamie is actually nice. Can’t help the timeline can you? Those things happened at that time and reading about it right now infuriated me. Because Today, no woman tolerates getting hit like that.. And Claire hated it too. But Jamie, ugh he knows it’s wrong but does it anyway because it was expected of him.. That’s the way society was back then. So I understand it. What Claire did, if a man had done, he would have been flogged. But she wasn’t, her husband punished her for it.
Even though the book was really long, with not a lot of substance, I still enjoyed reading it. Mostly it was just fighting, fucking, horse-riding and lots of details about Claire’s feelings.
Well apart from that horrible thing I can’t get past, the book was just fine.
Talk about mixed feelings. *eye roll
I still haven’t  decided whether I want to read the sequel or not. Or if I’d recommend this book to anyone. Some people might find it good despite all the factors, everyone’s got their own opinions. I just don’t think that this is the kind of book that I can love. It was entertaining, yeah. I enjoyed most of it. But for such a huge book, there wasn’t much in it.

Love, Alex 🙂

Leave a Reply

