Across the universe trilogy by Beth Revis

I will be reviewing this trilogy as a whole, which I haven’t done before but I’ll be taking into consideration for further reviews as well.

This trilogy has two books with gorgeous covers and the third book, which is completely different from the set.

image

image

image

Goodreads: Link
Buy this book here: Book 1, Book 2Book 3

Summary: (Only of book 1 because No spoilers)

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder. 
Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to

awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.
Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone – one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship – tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.
Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming

Characters: This is the first thing I need to talk about. Because it might be a let down for some people to know that I found the characters quite stupid and unrelatable. In the beginning, I was intrigued because it was whole new world and people react differently in different environments but honestly, as the story progressed, I just found them idiotic and annoying.

Premises : This is the best part of the books. And what I enjoy most in sci-fi, new world to explore, new settings. The first two books are set on a spaceship named Godspeed, which has many aspects and secret which are enjoyable to read. The third book is on an entirely new planet which is kinda beautiful and kinda scary.

Plot: I liked it.  And maybe it’s just my view. Some parts did seem unrealistic but still it was wonderful to read. The exploration aspect, the secrets and lies, parts of romance and violence. It all added up to make the book worthwhile.

Some Quotes I liked :

“I never thought about how important the sky was until I didn’t have one.”

“This is the secret of the stars, I tell myself. In the end, we are alone. No matter how close you seem, no one else can touch you.”

“What is in our hearts is real whether we name it or let it exist only in darkness or silence.” 

The author has a good writing style and I’d give this trilogy 4/5 stars as a whole.

Hope you enjoyed reading this. 🙂
Please do tell me in comments if you’ve read this book or if you’d like to. Your thoughts about my review and the book itself. Would you like reading more combined reviews of trilogy/series or singular reviews.

One thought on “Across the universe trilogy by Beth Revis

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday Jan 6 2016 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

