Volition by Lily Paradis

image

Goodreads: Link
Publishing date: February 6th 2015
Buy it: Amazon, Barnes&Noble
My rating: Perfect 5 stars 😀

Summary:

You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at first, and all at once shreds every fiber of your being?
It’s because you’re contradicting the universe.

Everything lines up so perfectly that you couldn’t have imagined it to work out better, but then you have to go and do everything humanly possible to ruin it because you can’t stand to have it go right?
That’s what I did.
I did it because there’s a darkness that surrounds me, and I think I want it there.
My name is Tate McKenna, and my soul is blacker than my heart.

My review:

When I saw this book on Goodreads and read the summary, I was sure that I would like this book. And then I saw the ratings. Many people rated it 1 star and others 5 stars. And that made me even more curious. I love conflicting books. Because some people love them and others hate them and I want to find out what I would feel.

First let me get this off my chest, I LOVED THIS BOOK SO FREAKING MUCH.The writing style and the words, you don’t just read them. You feel them. Just like Hayden Rockefeller. And no matter what others say, I could connect with Tate’s character. And her story did seem believable.
I read the foreword and I like the author’s thoughts. So I read Chapter 1 and then I wrote the author an email.
And it’s weird for me because I have never done that. But it might not be so weird for her since she says she loves to hear from her readers.
Now back to the book, All the characters were wonderful and so relatable. I love Colin and Catherine. And Hayden and Tate. Even Jesse, um….. no not really.

I saw their journey and their past. And the emotions were so overpowering. I felt like any second I would melt away. And then some parts I read with my heart racing.

“I want all of him.
I want to be engulfed by him.
I want him to set me on fire and let me burn until I’m nothing but ashes.
Then, I want him to set a flame to those ashes because he’s the only one who can.”

That’s how I felt about this book.

Signing off

Alex-The Shadow girl

One thought on “Volition by Lily Paradis

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – 14th October 2015 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

