WWW Wednesday – October 7th 2015

This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at Should be Reading and revived  on Taking on a World of Words.

image

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently reading:

Tonight the streets are ours by Leila Sales

image

Recklessly loyal.
That’s how seventeen-year-old Arden Huntley has always thought of herself. Caring for her loved ones is what gives Arden purpose in her life and makes her feel like she matters. But lately she’s grown resentful of everyone—including her needy best friend and her absent mom—taking her loyalty for granted.
Then Arden stumbles upon a website called Tonight the Streets Are Ours, the musings of a young New York City writer named Peter, who gives voice to feelings that Arden has never known how to express. He seems to get her in a way that no one else does, and he hasn’t even met her.

Recently finished :

The Martian by Andy Weir

image

My rating: 3/5 stars
My views differ from most of the people who have read this book. They seem to love it. I do not. I mean I get it, the guy is stuck on mars and is still making jokes and he’s even funny. But there are too many technicalities as well as impossible things happening. I mean how come he does all those dangerous experiments perfectly and not even one of them blow up in his face. Unrealistic

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

image

My rating: 2/5 stars
I didn’t have a high opinion of this either. This book contradicts itself at so many points. Our dear Dumplin’ doesn’t mind veing fat. It’s a fact she says, “it doesn’t sound like an insult when I say it.”
And yet a lot of times she feels like the guy who most definitely likes her is lying because no one can like her. Because she’s fat. ughhhh! He said he bloody damn likes you. And you’re like No. You keep me a secret. What will people say? And even though I like you,we can’t be together. Wait Whaaaaaat?
Then there are other parts like.. This girl here is my best friend. Has been for years. I love her. Wait no I’m jealous of her. Oh no… we fought and now she’s not talking to me. She has a new best friend.. whyyyy? *crying. Typical childhood drama.

Read next :
And yet as good as I am, I am willing to give the author another chance. I’ll try to read Side effects may vary by Julie Murphy.

image

I hope I like this one better.

I also want to read After you by Jojo Moyes

image

So that’s all for my WWW wednesday, share yours below and I’ll be sure to take a look. 🙂

Love.

Alex-The Shadow girl

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – October 7th 2015

  1. I’ll be interested to see what happens when you give Julie Murphy another chance!
    I’m not sure I want to read After You. I liked where Me Before You left things and I’m not sure I want to know what happens next 🙂
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy The Martian or Dumplin’! The first one is one of my favorite reads this year and I’ve heard a lot of great things about the second. I also want to try and start reading Jojo Moyes soon…

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

