2 Book reviews – You by Caroline Kepnes and Shattered blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz

Heya everyone. First,  I’ll just be clear. These two books are not related to each other at all. I just read them in the past few days and am too lazy to write two separate posts. So here’s the review.

image

Goodreads: Link
Publishing date : September 30th 2014
Publishing company : Atria/Emily Bestler Books 
Harcover,  No. Of pages : 422
Buy the book here: Amazon Barnes & Nobles
My Rating : 5/5

Summary :
When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.
There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.
As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder. 

My review:

Sick! Twisted! Creepy and messed up characters. This story is awfully amazing. The way it progresses and things are revealed one by one. I got hooked from the first chapter.
Being in the mind of a stalker psychopath was never so much fun. Every detail,  eveey thought,  it was just so creepy and I liked it.
And Beck is a mystery. I’m sure if Joe had been in love with any normal girl, this book wouldn’t be so good. Frankly speaking,  I don’t even like Beck. I Hate her in fact. I mean there’s nothing special about her and she’s kind of a bitch when you think about it. And she is really selfish. Still everyone is in love with her.  Ugh! That’s irritating.
I can’t believe that this kind of book exists. 
It makes me want to think twice before doing anything. I’m actually going to start looking around. Maybe there’s a stalker hiding somewhere.
*chills

I can’t wait for its sequel. Hidden BodiesEven the name gives me chills. It’s going to be released in February 2016. AGH!  The long wait.

image

Goodreads : Link
Publishing date &  Company: : September 15th 2015 by Skyscape
Pre-order this book : Amazon
Paperback No.  Of Pages:  336
My Rating: 4/5

Summary :

For Noa and Callum, being together is dangerous, even deadly. From the start, sixteen-year-old Noa senses that the mysterious transfer student to her Monterey boarding school is different. Callum unnerves and intrigues her, and even as she struggles through family tragedy, she’s irresistibly drawn to him. Soon they are bound by his deepest secret: Callum is Fae, banished from another world after a loss hauntingly similar to her own.
But in Noa’s world, Callum needs a special human energy, Light, to survive; his body steals it through touch—or a kiss. And Callum’s not the only Fae on the hunt. When Callum is taken, Noa must decide: Will she sacrifice everything to save him? Even if it means learning their love may not be what she thought? 

My review :

This book is in 3 parts. Part 1 is from Noa’s POV, Part 2 is Callum’s POV and Part 3 is from Judah’s POV. 
This book started off kinda slow and cliché. Dead sister. New guy in town. Insta love. Blah Blah. So I thought this was going to be just like all the other books.
But… Wait for it…. 

I WAS WRONG!
The story really picks up when we get to know about the Fae. All different kinds of Fae and Callum has a story of his own to tell. 
What I did like was Noa’s character. She strong and is a poet. I really did like those small poems that are just a bonus with the book.
And then comes Judah, and BAM! I Loved him.
The mysterious bad boy, the troublemaker. And I am rooting for him. Love triangle once again! Which I didn’t really like. I mean just pick one.. (Judah) Please dear author don’t drag the love triangle in the next book. 
Um yeah… Where was I? The fae story. The plot really thickens towards the end and it’s pace fastened . So many tricks and deceit. The ending just blowed my mind. So pre-order this book. Just read it!

Also, thanks to Netgalley for an ARC. I’m really looking forward to the next book. I want it!

7 thoughts on “2 Book reviews – You by Caroline Kepnes and Shattered blue by Lauren Bird Horowitz

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – September 2nd 2015 | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

  2. Pingback: 2015 Reading challenge | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

  3. Pingback: September Wrap Up | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

  4. Pingback: Top Ten books with a Creepy setting | Alextheshadowgirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

