Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read

I Love Fairy tale retelling. Absolutely love them to the core. So I saw this on TheBrokeandbookish and I just couldn’t resist. Also, I haven’t done a Top Ten Tuesday post in so long. So, here we go.

1. Cruel Beauty and Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge

image

image

The Best fairy tale retellings I have read. I love Beauty and the Beast and I loved Cruel Beauty too. Ignifex is my fictional boyfriend and Nyx is just a strong character.
Crimson Bound is a retellings of Little Red Riding Hood. This is what perfection feels like. You cannot want more from a book. It os a creepy, gory and twisted version of a fairy tale. I loved it.

2. A court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Mass

image

Another Beauty and the Beast story and this one is by Sarah J Mass, the queen of fantasy books. How could I not love it? Oh! It also has faeries in it. And not the good kind. 😉

3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

image

Each book is a different fairytale retelling but they are all connected to a same story. The characters of these books are just amazing. And it’s beautifully written. Even the novellas/side stories are really good.

4. A wicked thing by Rhiannon Thomas

image

A sleeping beauty retelling. How easy it seems that the sleeping beauty wakes and marries the prince amd they live happily ever after! What if Aurora doesn’t want to marry the prince who is just a stranger to her?

5. Dorothy Must die by Danielle Paige

image

What was the one thing we loved about our dear Dorothy? It was that whatever happened, all she wanted was to go back home. But what happens when she misses Oz too much and finally thinks that Oz is much better than home. Dorothy turns evil so she must be stopped.

6. The Isle of the Lost by Melissa de la Cruz

image

All disney villians and their kids trapped on an island. What a bloody good idea!

7. Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell

image

It is a Cinderella retelling and almost all reviews I have read of this book are not very good but still I want to read this soo bad. Weird, I know.

8. The Shadow Queen by C J Redwine

image

I want this book. I totally want this. The reviews are awesome, the description is just captivating and the cover is beautiful.

9. A thousand nights by E K Johnston

image

Another book I really want to read!

10. Entwined  by Heather Dixon

image

Ever heard of the twelve dancing princesses? Yeah it’s a retelling of that. I have this book but I just can’t get to it. I see it on my shelf just lying there and don’t have the wish to pick it up. Maybe one day I will.

So, that’s it for today. Tell me what’s your favourite fairytale and fairy tale retellings. Do you like mine?

Alex – The Shadow Girl

14 thoughts on “Ten Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read

  1. I love your list! Although, I feel a little ashamed, I own most of these books, but I just haven’t picked them up yet. Thanks to you I am excited to be picking up Cruel Beauty this week! 🙂

    I cannot wait to read A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I keep waiting because I don’t know how I will do without any Sarah J Maas! I have read all of the Throne of Glass series, now I am just waiting for Queen of Shadows. It can’t come out soon enough!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the fairy tale of the 12 dancing princesses! Might have to pick that one up. 🙂

    My favorite fairy tale, growing up, was always Snow White & Rose Red. But I haven’t seen a re-telling of it, though I have some ideas, and eventually plan to write my own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

