Crying at 3 AM

So last night I was up at 3 am bawling my eyes out. I couldn’t sleep so I decided let’s watch a movie!

Great idea right?

WRONG!

I sat up the whole night watching the movie and crying and even when the movie was finished, I was sobbing so hard. I drowned in the feels.

Want to know which movie was it?

THE BOOK THIEF

This movie is based on the best-selling novel by Markus Zusak.

While subjected to the horrors of World War II Germany, young Liesel finds solace by stealing books and sharing them with others. In the basement of her home, a Jewish refugee is being sheltered by her adoptive parents.

The Book thief is one of my absolute favorites. I loved the book so much. It made me cry like a baby. And I was in love with all the characters and I HATED Hitler more than I ever did. And last night I saw this movie.

unnamed

That was my exact reaction. The movie just like the book is narrated by Death. The Cast was perfect, they acted sooo very well and caught the German accent nicely.

Even though a few changes were made in the movie, it was still in its own way – absolutely perfect.

This is one of those times when you can’t decide, is the book better or the movie? Because both are beautiful and so mind-blowingly good.

Now let me tell you about this movie.

The main character is Liesel whose brother just died and who is being sent to live with another family. She can’t read or write but she is not stupid either.Her stepmother is a rude but caring woman and her stepfather is a kind-hearted man. When he finds out that Liesel cannot read, he teaches her using her book. She goes to school and befriends her neighbor Rudy. I liked Rudy very much apart from Liesel and Max (I’ll talk about him later),  Rudy is my favorite character. The was he helps Liesel to fit in, hhe confides in her,  supports her and don’t forget the occasional “Do I get a kiss now?”

😂😂

Max is the Jew that Liesel’s new family is hiding in her basement. Liesel became close with Max very fast. The way she described the day to him and he taughht her the importance of words. It was a beautiful relationship between them.

Rosa Hubermann (Liesel’s mother)  sends Liesel to take laundry to the Major’s House where Ilsa invites her to the library and tells her she can come and read whenever she wants. After stealing and reading in hiding, Liesel found it weird that here she could read whatever she want without having to steal.

When I started watching the movie, I wasn’t sure if it would meet up to the expectations but it surpassed even that. I suggest you guys to read this book/watch this movie if you haven’t already. And if you have, then tell me about it. What did you think?

Signing off

Alex_The_shadow_girl

Leave a Reply

