My Favorite Trilogies

The Best Trilogies

After doing a list of my favorite standalones,  it’s time that I show you my favorite trilogies.  Because,  admit it..  We love trilogies.  To get more from a book we love is what we want.  Love the first book? Congrats because there will be a sequel and a third book too.  And sometimes you also get side stories.  So here we are today.  Sharing a list of my all time favorite trilogies.  These are in no particular order and I will tell you what’s my favorite book from the trilogy.

Let’s get this started :

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins 

7938275

You were probably expecting this one.  Because when we hear the words Best Trilogy,  Hunger Games come to mind. I have a confession to make.  I watched the movie first before I started the trilogy.  So,  obviously SPOILERS! But I loved it anyhow. Hunger Games is a dystopian sci-fi which begins when Katniss volunteers for her sister and competes in the hunger games.

The rules are simple. 2 tributes from every district fight in the hunger games,  till only one winner is left. This book was exciting and interesting.  So if you haven’t read it yet,  give it a try.

Also,  I loved The Catching fire which is the second book in the trilogy.  And that’s my favorite.

2. Divergent by Veronica Roth

8306857

I love dystopians so you shouldn’t be surprised when I tell you that Divergent is also a dystopian sci- fi. Divergent is set in a world where all the people belong to a certain faction.

The society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

This book intrigued me from the start.  And I do have a book crush on Four.  So it had to make the list. The book I loved most in this trilogy was Divergent  ( the 1st book).

3. The Selection trilogy  by Kiera Cass

unnamed

I picked up this trilogy just because of its beautiful cover.  But as I started reading,  I got lost in the story. Before Mason becomes the King,  he has to find a queen. The book starts with America entering a contest to win the prince’s heart and become queen. She doesn’t want to be there because she loves someone else.  But situation take a wonderful twist.  This was a fast-paced,  engrossing and beautiful novel.

And I loved the second book in this one too which is The Elite. It has nice side stories too.

4. Shatter me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

unnamed

Shatter me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi is the kind of book you Cannot put down. If you haven’t read it yet,  you are missing out big time. It is a young adult dystopian. Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 248 days. Because last time she did,  by accident,  she got locked up on the charge of murder.  A deadly power,  a world crumbling into ruins. And Juliette has a choice. Be a weapon  or a warrior. The characters in this book will either make you love them so much that you’ll bleed with them or you’ll hate them so much,  you’ll want to kill them with your bare hands.

I can’t pick  a favorite in this one because I loved all three of them,  including the side stories. But I do have a book crush on Warner. 😍

5. Daughter of smoke and bone trilogy by Laini Taylor 

dsb

From master storyteller and National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor comes a sweeping and gorgeously written modern fantasy series about a forbidden love, an ancient and epic battle, and hope for a world remade. 

This is the kind of book you’ll want to dive into right away. The less I say about it,  the better.  I read this entire trilogy in less than a week because I just couldn’t get enough of it. Burned marks are appearing in doorways.  Those who look like monsters are the not evil,  but the angels are. And Karou,  the girl with the blue hair gets caught up in all this. But wasn’t she already a part of it?

I loved the second book, most of all. It was so captivating.

6. The Study Trilogy and Glass Trilogy by Maria V Snyder 

unnamed (1)unnamed (2)

The study trilogy begins when Yelena who is about to be prosecuted is given a chance at life.  Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She’ll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly’s Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

This book was fantastic and blew my mind.  I Loved every character and the plot was just AWESOME.

The glass trilogy is spin-off of the study trilogy which follows the character of Opal. Opal has a unique gift which people would love to misuse.  In the middle of Chaos,  dark powers and betrayal,  will Opal survive? I loved the spin-off even more than the Study trilogy.

And it’s hard to choose favourites in this.  So I won’t. 😶

7. The Infernal devices by Cassandra Clare

unnamed (3)

This trilogy is the prequel to The Mortal Instrument series.  I have one thing to say about it.  If you haven’t read this,  GO READ IT NOW.

I don’t have words to say how much I adore these books.  The characters,  the plot,  the quotes,  the setting,  everything is brilliant and the ending. OMFG! The way this trilogy ended. The story is set in 1898. It also has a love triangle and it is so hard to choose between Will and Jem, who are also parabatai by the way, which is way more than just being best-friends or brothers. They all have their own problems and  SHIT to deal with but on top of that, a great evil is rising in London.

P. S –  It’s got shadowhunters.  😁 My favorite book is definitely the last one BECAUSE that ending. This book broke me into pieces and then assembled me again. And I loved every minute of it. Even the pain.

8. Matched trilogy by Ally Condie. 

unnamed

This trilogy saved me when I was suffering from Reader’s block and yes that is a thing.  I couldn’t get into any book and then I came across Matched.  It immediately drew me in. Everyone believes in the society.  They make the right choices.  They know what’s good and no one refuses them. So when Xander’s face appears on the screen for Cassie’s Matching ceremony, she is certain that he is her ideal mate.

Until she sees Ky’s face flicker on the screen before it goes blank.  Did the society make a mistake? Or is there more to it?

It took me to different adventures,  taught me to never give up.  It changed me.  And I love this Trilogy for that.

My favorite book in this is Crossed,  which is the 2nd one.  (I always love the second book the most.)

9.Nightshade trilogy by Andrea Cremer

unnamed (4)

Werewolves.  Badass werewolves.

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she’ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters’ laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything- including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

There is magic,  bloodshed,  betrayal,  friendship,  love and loss. In short,  everything a book needs. I liked the first book best. 😊

10. Fifty Shades Trilogy by E L James

unnamed (5)

Okay,  let me just say this first. This book DOES NOT promote rape.  She was willing  and she signed the damn contract herself.  If you hate me after this,  your choice. But I liked this book and my opinion  is not changing for anybody.

Ana is clumsy,  submissive and beautiful but that’s like most of romance/erotic novels these days. Christian is SEXY,  dominant and has a cruel past.  I liked their story together.  How they move past issues,  explore their relationships and try to know each other, in and out.

I didn’t like the movie.  Sorry.  And it’s not because Jamie Dornan.  I liked him as Christian.  And Fifty Shades  Darker is my favorite book in this trilogy.

11. The Mara Dyer Trilogy by Michelle Hodkin.

unnamed (6)

Apart from the gorgeous covers,  Mara Dyer trilogy had an interesting plot line.  The story was unique and yes there were parts I did NOT like but that doesn’t mean that I don’t like this trilogy as a whole.

Mara Dyer is a dysfunctional character but most of the time,  it’s not her fault. She has lost her memory,  her friends but things are about to get stranger.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer- mind-blowingly Amazing.

12. The Winner’s Curse Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

unnamed (7)

The third book is yet to come out and boy,  am I  excited for it. This is Definitely one of my favourites,  no doubt. Kestrel,  as a general’s daughter has two choices,  join the military or get married. But what if she doesn’t want to choose?

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. But Arin has a secret too.

This is one of the best books I’ve come across in the past few months. I Love it so so much,  I can’t describe it. 💖

13. The Grisha  Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

unnamed (8)

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Leigh Bardugo is an Awesome writer and story – teller.  She weaves the story so well that you instantly dive into the story. Even the side stories of this series are sooooo GOOD. You just can’t get enough of this Trilogy.

Some of my other favorite trilogies and duologies are:

1. Legend by Marie Lu

2. Ethan Frost by Tracy wolff

3. If I stay by Gayle Forman

4. Cruel beauty by Rosamund Hodge

5. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

6. The fifth wave by Rick Yancey

7. The Krinar chronicles by Anna Zaires

8. Teardrop by Lauren Kate

9. Unbreakable by Kami Garcia

10. Revenant trilogy by Amy Plum

11. Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa

12. Hex hall by Rachel Hawkins

Hmmm.. What’s better than trilogies? Oh! I know! Book series.

So I’ll be doing a list of my favorite book series soon. Till then,  goodbye and have a good day

Signing off

Alex_The_shadow_girl

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Trilogies

Leave a Reply

