Standalone Novels that You will Love.

  • Books that you’ll Love. 

Hey everyone,  Alex here.  And today I’ll be showing you some of my favorite books.  These are those books that I just LOVED so much and couldn’t put down. And that’s why I gave them 5 stars.  😊 This post   is for the standalones only.  I’ll be doing  one for trilogies and one for series too.

*THEY ARE IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER. 

Stand-alones

1.  The Fault in our stars and Looking for Alaska  by John Green. 

11870085unnamed (1)

If you have heard the name John Green,  you are not even surprised.  The Fault in our stars and Looking for alaska are my favorite standalones. These books are inspirational and so brilliantly written that they make their ways into your heart.

John Green knows teenagers better than we know ourselves. And after the movie,  I finally feel content knowing that there are Good books that are appreciated as they should. And if by any chance,  you haven’t read these books,  even after all the hype,  I suggest that you do.  Because not reading would be regretting.

2.Vicious by Victoria Schwab 

13638125

 Vicious is a standalone novel.  This book is one of those books that you’ll absolutely Love.  The book characters were amazing and so realistic (as realistic as it gets when they have unbelievable superpowers). This book has no good guys and bad guys.  The conflict is not between good and bad but between bad and worse.  It’s thrilling and interesting and V E Schwab’s writing style is absolutely amazing. 

3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn 

21480930

On Nick and Amy’s fifth-wedding anniversary,  Amy goes missing. Amy’s brilliantly charming husband isn’t doing himself any favors by being stoic while he should be panicking.  So the question arises, is he a killer? Amy’s diary reveals unsettling secrets and it seems like Nick didn’t know his wife at all.

It is a thriller and the only thought in mind after reading this was HOLY SHIT! This blew my mind and I was craving for the movie. Every chapter drew me in more and more. And I was NOT ready for the ending. Even if you don’t like mystery or thrillers,  you SHOULD give this book at least a try.

4. We were Liars by E Lockhart 

16143347

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. An island,  a beautiful family, a damaged girl and a terrible lie. This book left me miserable. And I loved every minute of it.   The way it twisted and all those short stories between the story that made perfect sense through the  chapter. It changed me. Read it. And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE. 

5. A thousand splendid suns by Khaled Hosseini

128029

Khaled Hosseini is one of my favorite authors. His books show you the brutal reality of life and force you into deep thought.  This book tore my heart apart,  healed it and then ripped it out again and again. Born a generation apart and with very different ideas about love and family, Mariam and Laila are two women brought jarringly together by war, by loss and by fate. A compelling and heartbreaking story of a time of complete loss and fear. This is a book you must read.

6. The Book thief by Markus Zusak

19063

The first thing about this book,  it’s wriiten from Death’s point of view.  And that tells you something doesn’t it? 1939 Nazi Germany. Death has never been busier.  But even in times like this, hope never dies. It’s a small story, about: a girl,  an accordionist,  some fanatical Germans, a Jewish fist fighter and quite a lot of thievery. You will fall in love with the characters and with this book.  This is the type of book you read again and again. 

7. Me before you by Jojo Moyes. 

15507958

Reading this book,  made me cry like a baby. I’ve never been so hurt by a book and yet loved it sooo much. (Okay I have but that doesn’t make this any less special).  This was a unique book,  unlike anything I have read before.

What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

You might love this book,  you might hate it but YOU WILL NOT REGRET READING IT.

8. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell 

15745753

If you haven’t read a book by Rainbow Rowell,  I don’t know what you have been doing with your life. This book is the most realistic,  beautiful and amazing book I’ve read. It totally broke the queue of Romantic Clichés. No blue eyed, blonde girl or guy with grey eyes. It’s different. It’s close to reality. It shows REAL problems. Not everything ends up fine. Not everything is rainbow and unicorns. And it all showed in this book because RAINBOW ROWELL! Loved it and I recommend it to everyone. 

9. Aristotle and dante discover the secrets of the universe by Benjamin Alire Sàenz 

12000020

Firstly,  can you see how intriguing the title is? I have one word for this novel BEAUTIFUL.  Inside and outside,  this book is extremely beautiful.

The narrator is Ari,  a fifteen year old boy who  prefers being alone. Until he comes across a friend who will NOT leave him alone.  And for a change,  Ari doesn’t want him to.  This is a story about friends and family and self-discovery. Loved every minute of it.

10. The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

22628

Charlie is a freshman. Smart,  interesting,  shy and socially awkward,  he is a Wallflower. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.This is the book you love more and more each time you read it. 

We accept the love we think we deserve.’

Doesn’t this sentence alone makes you want to read this? One of my favorite books of all time. Do give this a read.

What? You think this is it? Nope.  I’ve got more for you. 

11. Thirteen reasons why by Jay  Asher

1217100

Clay Jensen’s classmate and crush committed suicide.  And one day,  he finds a package in his home with thirteen tapes in which she has recorded the thirteen reasons that pushed her to the limit. And Clay is one of them.

This book changed my perspective of life.  It was intriguing,  heart wrenching and brilliant. It’s emotional and gripping. It deserved the five-star review it got.

12. Satan loves you by Grady Hendrix 

11261906

I can describe this novel in one word.  HILARIOUS. I was laughing so bad while reading this..  My family thinks I’m crazy because of this. Managing Hell is the worst job ever invented and after several millenia of listening to the constant whining of damned souls, the Lord of Darkness is completely and totally burnt out.

You think Satan is evil? Ha! Read this and you’ll pity him. This was so amazingly written and the story,  so unique yet funny. Having a bad time? Read this.  It’ll surely cheer you up.

13. I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson 

20820994

This book was crazy and brilliant. The details with which it was written and the way everything adds up in the end,  just blew my mind.  A wonderful story of love,  loss,  family,  passion,  talent and trust. The metaphors will leave you gasping for breath and towards the end you’ll be unmade and reborn. This book is Radiant and it moved me in so many ways.. It’s hard to explain.  Just read it and you’ll know. 😆

14. Before I fall by Lauren Oliver 

6482837

Talk about Best standalones amd not mention Lauren oliver? Not  possible.  If I could give a thousand stars to this book,  I would.Like Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay, Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person’s life can affect so many others.

Sam lives the last day of her life seven times and realises that even the slightest change holds a lot of power.  Awesome.  This book was completely awesome.

Some other books you might enjoy are:

If I stay by Gayle Forman

The siren by Kiera Cass

My heart and other black holes by jasmine warga

All the bright places by Jennifer Niven

The darkest part of the forest by Holly Black

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly black

Orange is the new black by Piper Kerman

Stolen by Lucy Christopher

The host by Stephenie meyer

Veronika decides to die by Paulo Coelho

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

Rage of Angels by Sidney Sheldon

Signing off

Alex_The_shadow_girl

3 thoughts on “Standalone Novels that You will Love.

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site.
    You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love
    to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Many
    thanks!

    Like

  2. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed!
    Extremely helpful info particularly the last part :
    ) I care for such info much. I was looking for
    this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

