The Giver quartet


The Giver Quartet 

By Lois Lowry

This is a series with 4 books:

The Giver

Gathering Blue

The Messenger


The first book starts with the story of Jonas who lives in a community with no colors,  music or feelings. Everything is functioning perfectly.  There are no wars or hunger.  Every year the ceremonies happen and children progress with their lives.  It’s Jonas’ Twelve year ceremony where he would be assigned the job he will perform for the rest of his life till he reaches the Old Age Home. Well the hype starts when his name is skipped in the ceremony and after that his life starts to change.  He begins to question if the community is really good.

I personally loved this book but there were factors missing. Things I needed to know about but weren’t mentioned. So I gave it 4/5 stars.

The second book is from the POV of Kira in an entirely different setup.  Kira is a cripple whose mother just died and her father has been snatched by the beasts. In the place where she lives,  people have to work to stay in the community or they will be thrown in the field for the beasts.  But with Kira’s leg it’s hard to do work.  Things change when it turns out that Kira has a gift.  Her life gets a lot better.  She befriends people. And finds others with gifts.  But plot twist,  even this community isn’t perfect.  There are secrets,  lies,  betrayal.

I really really loved this book but just like the previous book,  some of my questions went unanswered.  I gave this book 4/5 stars too.

The third book is the story of Matty,  who is a character from the previous book.  Personally,  I really liked this character.  In the previous book,  he was rough and boyish but funny and nice.  In this book,  he is refined and stubborn and really amazing. He is the messenger and as things start to change in his village,  he has to deliver one last message.  He also has a gift but will it mean anything when everything is falling apart?

I gave this book 3/5 stars. Firstly because it was short and secondly because I didn’t like the ending that much.

The last book of this series was  a nice wrap-up showing the story of Claire who starts as a birthmother in one community,  turns into water Claire and then finally a mother in the end.

This book was interesting,  exciting and answered a few questions.  Some of the old characters were there in Before,  Between and Beyond (which are parts of this book) . But it also left a lot of questions unanswered.

And that is the only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars.  I would have liked to know what happened to Eliare.  And if birthmothers give birth,  where are the fathers? What happened to the community since Jonas is gone and Claire is gone and the previous giver can’t stand it for too long. Are things going to change there or not?

All in all,  it was an interesting and good read.  But I still would have liked if Lois Lowry answered some questions and concluded it with the overall happenings of all communities.

And that’s it with the series.  You should give it a try and see what you think of it.

Signing off



One thought on “The Giver quartet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s